3 Brand New Motorcyles for Emergency Response

For the first time in history, the City Government acquired the new 3 DRRM Honda PCX Motorcycles which will be used to respond to emergencies under the City Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office. These motorcycles will help the CDRRMO responders for a more effective and efficient response specially to places not accessible by our ambulance. The public are also encouraged  to help the CDRRMO responders to give way to responder vehicles on the road during emergencies.

Tagbilaran City, all set for the One-Stop Shop for business permits application

The streamlined business permits application will start January 2 until January 20, 2020. According to Business Permits and Licensing Office (BPLO) Head Samuel Belderol, no extension will be provided to the registrants. Tagbilaran City businessmen showed prompt and responsible demeanor towards the ruling. City Mayor John Geesnell “BABA” Yap who has been very supportive in the establishment of business-friendly environment in the City is thankful to the support and cooperation of business owners, “The proactive partnership between the business sector and the City Government is a synergy which would greatly contribute to the development of Tagbilaran. The increase in business income would translate to more services and programs, intended to capacitate and empower the Tagbilaranons,” said Mayor Yap.

The business permitting system which was streamlined from 14 to 3 steps requires the business owners to complete the pre-business registration which means complying with all the documentary requirements before actually starting the business permit application. For new businesses, the Business Permits and Licensing Office (BPLO) will look for the certificate of registration from the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) and Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), certificate of occupancy or lessor’s permit for rented buildings or contract of lease for market occupants, whichever is applicable, and barangay clearance. The City Health Office (CHO) will require the Mayor’s Permit, billing statement from the City Treasurer’s Office and laboratory results of both x-ray and stool. The City Assessor’s will look for the photocopy of the lot where the business is located and tax declaration of the building, the City Treasurer on one hand, will look for the Property identification Number (PIN) and tax clearance. The Office of the Building Official (OBO) will require the certificate of occupancy, but for old buildings (those which existed since 1978 and below), submission of a certification from licensed structural experts are needed. For the Bureau of Fire, new businesses need to fill out the unified application form with the assessment of fees, official receipt of real property tax and certificate of occupancy from OBO.

While the pre-registration requirements for renewal of business permits, the submission of barangay clearance, latest income tax return, Mayor’s Permit, sanitary permit, latest tax declaration of the building, tax clearance, OBO clearance and Fire Safety Inspection Certificate (FSIC) are required. If applicants for business permits comply with the pre-business registration procedures, the release of permits would only take a day or two. The BPLO with the assistance from the USAID-SURGE would also undertake an assessment through on-the-spot surveys to evaluate the effectiveness of the streamlined process, the results of which, will be integrated to continuously improve Tagbilaran City’s business registration system.

Tagbilaran City celebrates Rabies Awareness Day

Free Spay and Neuter for Cats and Dogs along with free rabies vaccines, free deworming, and free vitamins were the highlight of Tagbilaran City’s observance of the Rabies Awareness Day. Held in Barangay Poblacion II, the event drumbeat the importance of keeping our beloved cats and dog healthy and rabies-free. Under the lead of Dr. Victoria Limbaga, the veterinary medical mission encourages all pet owners to avail of the free services. City Mayor John Geesnell “BABA” Yap’s all-out support to this activity has been evident for five years now.

Tagbilaran City celebrates the 27th Family Week

Throngs of people converged in Plaza Rizal to make a stand for the Filipino Family, carrying banners with family-themed messages. Various groups and organizations led by the City Government employees and personnel woke up early to join the ecumenical prayer followed by the fun walk going to Palma Street, then to Gallares, then finally converging in Plaza Rizal. Food stalls are waiting to meet the hungry palates of the volunteers. The affair was keynoted by the City Government’s Family of the Year awardee, Former Vice-Governor Atty. Dionisio Balite, “Be humble, be honest, and always make time for God”, emphasized Atty. Balite. The message centered on the guiding principles which nurtured the Balite Family through the years.

The winners during the week-long contests were also awarded led by the winner in the 30-seconder infomercial led by the first placer Cogon High School Evening Class, followed by the Dr. Cecilio Putong National High School, and the Holy Name University. The On-the-Spot Essay Writing was conquered by Extemporaneous Speaking was conquered by Bohol Wisdom School Jeska Aaliyah Ocio, Bohol International College Marah Doreen Lerin, and Tagbilaran City Science High School Jarius Zim Pasagad respectively, while the 1st place in the Poster Making Contest was bagged by the Tagbilaran City Central Special Science Elementary School Samantha Dee Requina, 2nd place from Booy Elementary School Kristel Mae Bompat, and 3rd place from Eastern Cogon Elementary School Nicole Duquilla. The Extemporaneous Speaking Senior High Category went to Tagbilaran City Science High School Chen Lomosbog for the 1st place, Holy Name University Geoanne Alyzandra Estrada for the 2nd place, and the Holy Spirit School of Tagbilaran John Christian Buaya for the 3rd place. The Tertiary Category (College) was given to the Holy Name University Peter Wald Saguirel II for the top spot, BISU Main Shaira Jean Jumawid for the 2nd spot, and Tagbilaran City College Cherry Mae Pepito for the 3rd spot. The Jingle-Making Contest aspirants gave an actual performance before its chief judge, Prof. Joshibiah Gaa De Juan. The Tagbilaran City Assembly of God Church won the 1st prize, followed by the Holy Name University, and the Tagbilaran High School – Hearing Impaired respectively.  

Acting City Administrator Cathelyn Torremocha thanked all the sponsors led by the DIWA Party List, Chocolate Hills Lions Club, Rotary Club, JCI Phils, Bohol Paddlers, Kiwanis Club, Monde Nissin Corp, SMART, Nestle Phils, Yakult, Nature Spring, BISU Drum and Bugle, DCPNHS Drum and Bugle, HSS Glee and Dance Club, and the Provincial Government of Bohol.


Committee Chair on Ways and Means City Councilor Joseph Bompat convened the public hearing for the Setting of the Environment Usage Fees for the Operation and Maintenance of the Septage Management System in the City of Tagbilaran. Attended by the various stakeholders from Tagbilaran City, the ordinance aims to comply with the Philippine Clean Water Act of 2004 and thereby ensure the sustainability of water and water safety in Tagbilaran City. The Septage Management Team led by Beben Inting, Ceasar Pelaez, Engr. Estella Margate, and Glenda Maniwang made the presentation. USAID-SURGE Madeleine Sinon, City Councilors Jonas Cacho, Atty. Butchie Zamora, and Vicente Polinar were also in attendance, along with ABC President Fausto Budlong, Punong Barangays Mary Jane Ruiz of Ubujan and Bernadette Blanco of Mansasa.

1 2 3 4 5 9